Missing!

We are sad to announce that we are missing Speedy, one of our darling fathead minnows (Pimephales promelas).  He was grey in color, approximately 1.5 to 2 inches in length, and last seen in a 55 gallon fish tank containing 22 juvenile tilapia.

Speedy was the only minnow that we were unable to catch and transfer to a smaller tank before the tilapia grew to a length of five inches.  Although investigators have searched the canister filter and aquarium thoroughly, there was no sign of Speedy.  Authorities suspect that Bacon was a little faster than Speedy one evening, but Bacon has denied any involvement in spite of his recent accelerated growth.

If you have any information that would lead to the recovery of Speedy or the capture and filleting of the perpetrator, please contact your local animal control agency by commenting below.

This entry was posted in Fish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Missing!

  1. Nate says:

    It is a quirky story! Find Sherlock!

  2. croftgarden says:

    Oh no! Is it fish napping or something more sinister?

    • I’m afraid it’s more sinister than fish napping.

      What surprises me most is that there were so many witnesses, yet no one would cooperate. Could it be a conspiracy? Or is someone tampering with witnesses? The plot thickens.

  3. Sam Burton says:

    Finally getting around to reading your blog. Looks like you’re making good progress. We have not set up either of our systems yet. We have a floating raft system that is ready to go, I just need to finish the plumbing. We are also making one out of IBC totes. We have the totes, but are short on time. It’s kidding season, so we’re up to our eyeballs in baby goats and related chores. Still plenty of time.

    What part of Acworth do you live in? We off of Mars Hill Rd. That’s where the garden and aquaponics units are. Our farm is on Dallas Acworth Highway, about half way between the flea market and Allatoona High School.

    I’m looking forward to following your progress.

    Sam

    • Hi Sam,

      Thanks for stopping by. We were thinking about setting up an IBC tote system with a wooden frame and siding around it so it looks as nice as possible (since it will be in our backyard). Well, it’s on my list of things to do. If I get it done this year, I’ll be doing good.

      Congratulations on your new babies. I hope they’re all doing well. Sorry to hear about your fish. Fortunately some of them survived their ordeal.

      What a coincidence. We are very close to your farm, not far from the flea market and the church that’s just down the road. I would love to see your operations some time. Sounds like you’ve got a lot of great things going on.

      Scott

  4. Donna says:

    I think Speedy wasn’t so speedy. I used to have a cockatiel named “lucky” that was out in the wild and came to me nearly dead. My kids named him Lucky because “he was lucky he found us”. We soon discovered that he was unlucky though when our Beagle leapt close to 6 ft over my head with a running start and snatched him out of the air. The dog was supposed to be locked in another room but I taught Lucky how to whistle “how much is that doggy in the window” and Blue the Beagle didn’t think that was very funny. Lucky was okay but we found him a better home with a crazy lady that will love him for a long time and he will get lots of attention. I have just read several posts and I love your blog. This is very interesting to me. I love plants and fish. I have a 55 gallon tank with some tetras and a large pleco. I have room for more fish than I have but while my health isn’t good I’m not going to add any new fish. These seem pretty hardy. I am eager to see more of your project. I have never heard of that before.

Leave a Reply

